The RSL currently has a number of Awards, Prizes and Honours open for submissions, including:

V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize – Less than One Month to Go!

We are now taking entries for the 2022 V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize. This Prize for the best unpublished short story of the year was founded by the RSL to preserve a tradition encompassing Pritchett’s warmth of feeling and mastery of narrative.

The author of the winning entry will be awarded a prize of £1,000 and have their story published in Prospect online and in the RSL Review. We are grateful to ALCS for their support of the Prize.

This year’s judges are Jenn Ashworth, Cynan Jones and Emma Paterson.

Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards:

Launched in 2021 in partnership with Sky Arts, the Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards celebrate and nurture British writers of colour at the beginnings of their careers. Five winners will receive ten mentoring sessions over the course of 12 months with an RSL Fellow writing in their form, as well as two sessions with Awards Ambassador Bernardine Evaristo. Mentors for the second year of the Awards: Inua Ellams, Jay Bernard, Nadifa Mohamed, Vinay Patel and Nikesh Shukla.

Submissions for the 2022 Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards are open until 31 July 2022. Full eligibility criteria and guidelines are available here.  

RSL Literature Matters Awards:

The RSL’s Literature Matters Awards aim to reward and enable literary excellence and innovation.

Launched as part of the RSL’s Literature Matters programme, priority will be given to proposals which (a) will help connect with audiences or topics outside the usual reach of literature, and/or (b) will help generate public discussion about why literature matters.

This year’s judges are Melanie Abrahams, Sophie Collins and Ian Duhig.

Submissions for the RSL’s 2022 Literature Matters Awards are open until 24 August 2022. Full eligibility criteria and guidelines are available here.

RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for Non-Fiction:

The RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards is for first-time writers of non-fiction through a generous bequest from author and RSL Fellow Giles St Aubyn.

This year’s judges are Homi K. Bhahba, Fiona Boyle and Violet Moller.

Submissions for the 2022 RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for Non-Fiction are open until 14 September 2022. Full eligibility criteria and guidelines are available here.